Insurgency: FG Constitutes Committee On Victims Support Fund

In her effort to scale up support for victims of insurgency and terror attacks nationwide, the Nigerian Government has constituted a Committee on Victims Support Fund to mobilize resources and administer appropriate support to victims of insurgency and Boko Haram terror activities all over the country.

Accordingly, the President, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, has approved the composition and appointment of members of the Committee on Victims Support Funds as follows:

  1. Gen. TY Danjuma, GCON         –        Chairman
  2. Mr. Fola Adeola                           –           Deputy Chairman
  3. Alh. Mohammed Indimi             –           Member
  4. Alh. Abdulsamad I. Rabiu           –           Member
  5. Alh. Sani Dauda             –           Member
  6. Mrs. Folorunsho Alakija       –           Member
  7. Mr. Cosmas Maduka       –           Member
  8. Mr. Jim Ovia      –           Member
  9. Mr. Wale Tinubu         –           Member
  10. Alh. Sani Sidi, DG, National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA)          –           Member
  11. Air Vice Marshal Tony Omenyi (Representing Defence Headquarters)     –           Member
  12. CP Salisu Fagge, representing Nigerian Police Force       –           Member
  13. Mr. Sayana Yusuf, representing Department of State Services                  –           Member
  14. Chief Uche Secondus, PDP Deputy National Chairman (South)                 –           Member
  15. Alh. Tijani Tunsah, APC Deputy National Chairman (North)                    –           Member
  16. Representative of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) –          Member
  17. Representative of Jamaatul Nasril Islam (JNI)                 –           Member
  18. Chief(Mrs.) Nkechi Mba, Representing National Council of Women Societies    –   Member
  19. Prof. Ben Angwe, Executive Secretary, National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)  – Member
  20. Representative of the United Nations (UN)                 –           Member
  21. Representative of Department for International Development (DFID)     –     Member
  22. Representative of Unites States Agency for International Development (USAID) – Member
  23. Representative of International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)           –           Member
  24. Alh. Balarabe Musa, Representing Conference of Nigerian Political Parties (CNPP) – Member
  25. Two (2) Representatives of Local Civil society/Youth Groups (Male & Female) –           Members.
  26. Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF)     –     Secretariat

According to the press release by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, the Committee would be inaugurated by the President on Wednesday, July 16, 2014 by 10.00am at the Council Chamber, Aso Villa, Abuja.

[source: http://www.channelstv.com/2014/07/14/insurgency-fg-constitutes-committee-victims-support-fund/]

Leave A Comment

Your Comment
All comments are held for moderation.